Grocery shopping and wanting ALL OF THE THINGS

The good: Shawn made AWESOME hot wings last night, along with homemade ranch dressing and roasted carrots. Man, oh man, were those wings good, too. Again, this isn’t so much a diet as it is a lifestyle change – we are eating whole, unprocessed foods. This means we have to check labels for things like sugar, dextrose, corn syrup, etc. The hot wings for a 4th of July recipe provided by the Whole 30 folks themselves, although we modified the recipe because neither of us wanted a salad.

The bad: Pepperonis, even turkey pepperonis, have 2% or less of dextrose in them. We’re planning on making a meat-za tomorrow. Whole 30 advises against it, calling it “Sex With Your Pants On” if you think of it as a pizza substitute. We’re not thinking of it that way, but rather as meat with a ton of veggies on top of it. Anyhow, we wanted to put pepperoni on it, but pepperoni is OUT. Fortunately, prosciutto is in :).

The ugly: Shawn & I ran to the store yesterday to pick up a few things. We made the mistake of wondering down aisles that had things we can’t have. Like cheez-its. And candy. And frappucinos. This morning, I would have punched somebody in the face for a waffle. I went to Body Flow and regained composure, and came home to make an awesome chicken salad with a side of avocado, blueberries, and pineapple. I used Whole 30 mayo (you can find the recipe in It Starts With Food), baked chicken seasoned with salt, pepper, and cumin, chunks of pineapple, and red pepper flakes.

This challenge is, in fact, a challenge: it’s only for 30 days. Already, on Day 4, I’m dreaming of mac & cheese from Panera, which I have all intentions of having at some point once I’m done with this. Although the program tells you not to step on the scale, I did… and I’ve already dropped 3 pounds! If that’s not motivation, I don’t know what is. Ideally, I’d like to get myself to a point where I enjoy eating like this 6 days out of 7, giving myself a day to go out and socialize with friends, but not falling down the slippery slope of eating all of the bad things all of the time.

Leave a Reply

